In order to better understand the dynamic behaviour of rocket launchers during flight, it is critical to analyse the vibration data recorded during flight. The classical experimental modal analysis techniques are not applicable since it is impossible to control or measure the dynamic loads applied to the launcher.

Outil_analyse_modale_multi_methode_ssi_stabilisation

Client problem

The classical experimental modal analysis techniques are not applicable to flight data since there is no robust and precise manner of controlling and/or measuring the loads that the rocket is subject to.

To analyse the rocket's vibrations without access to the input or vibration source (blind identification), it is necessary to use "operational" modal analysis. Numerous methods have been proposed by researchers but no systematic comparison and benchmark has been conducted.

Solution proposed

After an extensive bibliography review, Cornis identified 4 methods amongst the highest performing ones and most adapted to our client operational context and needs. All four methods were implemented. Special care was taken so our client could easily use them.

To quantify the precision of the modal identification offered by these four methods and the robustness of the identification, a thorough study of their performance was conducted. They were tested on numerous signals simulated on a single degree of freedom system. Numerous modifications and perturbations were then applied to the signals that were feed to the identification methods:

  • noise,
  • harmonic parasites,
  • under-sampling,
  • signal quantification.

Cornis was thus able to develop a multi-method operational modal analysis tool with precise recommendations on the methods to use based on the quality and properties of the recorded signal.

Other missions

  • Industrialisation
  • Data processing

Afin de mieux comprendre le comportement en vol des fusées il est capital d'exploiter et d'analyser les données vibratoires recueillies lors des vols. Les techniques classiques d'analyse modale expérimentale ne sont pas applicables aux vols car il n'y a aucun moyen fiable de mesurer ou de contrôler l'excitation subie par la fusée.

Outil_analyse_modale_multi_methode_ssi_stabilisation

Problématique

Les techniques classiques d'analyse modale expérimentale ne sont pas applicables aux vols car il n'existe pas de moyen fiable de mesurer ou de contrôler l'excitation subie par la fusée.

Pour analyser "en aveugle" ces vibrations, il est nécessaire d'employer des méthodes dites "opérationnelles" qui permettent d'analyser une structure sans accès à la source du phénomène provoquant la vibration de la structure. De nombreuses méthodes ont été proposées par des chercheurs mais aucune comparaison systématique de performances n’a été conduite.

Solutions apportées

Après une revue bibliographique extensive, Cornis a identifié 4 méthodes parmi les plus performantes et adaptées au contexte de la problématique de notre client. Ces quatres méthodes ont été implémentées afin d'être facilement exploitables par notre client.

Pour quantifier la qualité d'identification modale de ces différentes méthodes mais aussi la stabilité et la robustesse de leurs résultats, une étude extensive de leurs performances a été menée. Elles ont été testées en conditions nominales sur de multiples signaux issus d'un simulateur de système à un degré de liberté. De nombreux types de dégradation ont aussi été testés:

  • bruit de mesure,
  • parasites harmoniques de mesure,
  • sous échantillonnage,
  • sous quantification.

Cornis a donc pu fournir un outil d'analyse modale opérationnelle mutli-méthode, avec des recommandations d'utilisation en fonction de la qualité des données analysées.

Autres missions

  • Industrialisation
  • Traitement de donnees