During launch of a rocket, there are many transient vibrations. Some are critical for the survival of the payload (the satellite). Our client needed new tools to analyse these transient vibrations. We had to go further that the state of the art algorithms even in academia to satisfy our client’s needs.

Methode_inedite_analyse_modale_pheneomenes_transitoires

Client problem

To precisely identify the impact of transient vibrations on the satellite, it is mandatory to know the dynamic properties of the rocket launcher at the moment the vibrations occur. It is also necessary to identify the vibration source. This identification becomes critical in the case of increasing vibration levels without any clear explanation of the root cause of this increase (more rigid or less damping structures or a higher vibration level at source).

Before this work, there were no tools enabling modal analysis in transient conditions (or non-stationary conditions) without access to the structure's input. All operational modal tools are based on a stationary input hypothesis.

Solution proposed

Cornis developed a blind identification method (or operational method) coping with transient vibrations and allowing system and input identification. The modal properties of the structure are obtained and the characteristics of the input are also obtained.

Cornis used a simplified parametric model of the structure and the input it was subject to. The behaviour of the structure under transient input was analysed. Thanks to the mathematical tools based on analytical signal theory, phase and amplitude information were extracted. This extraction enables a fit with the parametric model. This fit enables a precise identification of the structures modal properties (that are difficult to identify since they evolve during flight due to the loss of propellant mass) and to quantify and characterise the input it was subject to.

Thanks to this novel method our client is now able to quantify the resonance frequencies of the rocket structures but also the evolution of the input frequencies. Our client has been able to refine the interpretation of in-flight data and was able to take the right decisions to counter the increase in violent transient vibrations.

Other missions

  • Data processing
  • Novel solution

Pendant le lancement d'une fusée, de nombreux phénomènes vibratoires transitoires se produisent. Certains sont critiques pour la survie de la charge utile (satellite) au lancement. Notre client avait donc besoin d'une nouvelle méthode pour analyser ces phénomènes. Nous avons donc du dépasser l'état de l'art et aller au delà de la recherche académique pour satisfaire le besoin de notre client.

Methode_inedite_analyse_modale_pheneomenes_transitoires

Problématique

Pour identifier de manière plus précise l'impact de ces vibrations sur le satellite, il est indispensable d'identifier les propriétés dynamiques de la fusée à l'instant d'apparition de ce phénomène, ainsi que d'identifier de manière précise la source des vibrations. Cette identification est d'autant plus critique que des augmentations de niveaux vibratoires ont été constatés sans que la source de ces augmentations puissent être clairement identifiée (structures plus rigides ou excitations plus fortes).

Jusqu'à maintenant, il n'existait aucun outil d'analyse modale adapté au contexte transitoire. Tous les outils d'analyse modale opérationnelle supposent une excitation bruit blanc stationnaire.

Solutions apportées

Cornis a développé un outil permettant d'analyser en aveugle des données vibratoires transitoires pour identifier les propriétés modales de la structure vibrante et les caractéristiques de l'excitation appliquée.

Cornis a construit une modélisation paramétrique simplifiée de la structure et des excitations qu'elle subit. Le comportement transitoire de la structure soumise à une excitation variable a ensuite été analysé. Grâce à la théorie du signal analytique, les informations de phase et d'amplitude des données en vols ont été extraites. Cette extraction est ensuite utilisée pour recaler le modèle paramétrique simplifié de la structure et de son excitation. Les résultats du recalage ont permis d'identifier les propriétés modales de la structure (qui évoluent rapidement lors de la consommation de carburant) et de quantifier l'excitation subie par cette structure.

Avec cette méthode, notre client est capable de quantifier non seulement les fréquences de résonance de la structure mais aussi l’évolution de la fréquence d’excitation. Il peut donc affiner sa lecture des données mesurées en situation réelle et ainsi accroitre son pouvoir décisionnel sur les causes d’amplitude de vibration anormales en présence d’évènements transitoires.

Autres missions

  • Solution inedite
  • Traitement de donnees