Our CTO, Baptiste Coulange, did his PhD for CNES (the French Space Agency) and University of Paris Descartes on detecting of aliasing in satellite images.

Earth observation satellites are optimised to obtain the best image quality. The size of the sensors and the parameters of the optical chain are designed to obtain the best compromise between image resolution and acquisition artefacts. The higher the resolution the more artefacts are present.

Aliasing which is one of the artefacts in satellite images can lead to image misinterpretation. It is thus critical to detect it. By using the duality between spatial localisation in the image and aliasing relationships in the Fourier transform plane, it was possible to develop and validate a aliasing detection algorithm.

Detection_aliasing

Client problem

The three main acquisition artefacts are :

  • Ringing : a repetition around contrasted contours,
  • Blur
  • Aliasing : steps on contrasted contours.

Aliasing causes many difficulties, including image interpretation and the identification of objects in satellite images. To facilitate the work of the image interpreters, the goal of this work was to develop a detector of zones in the satellite images presenting aliased structures.

Solution proposed

Aliasing is a defect intimately linked to any numerical acquisition. Our work started by an analysis of its effect on simple image models, specifically periodic patterns that are highly impacted by aliasing.

This study lead to the definition of an aliasing spectrum relationship that characterises 2 frequencies or frequency zones that are linked by the aliasing pattern. In parallel, by extending the notion of "analytical signals" to images, the analytical parts of the images were obtained. The modulus of these images in the "complex domain" have the interesting property of having a very low sensitivity to bad sampling? They enable the determination of the localization in the original image of the energy with in a given frequency domain. This is interesting since it enables to localize a potentially aliased zone within the image.

It was experimentally showed that incorrectly sampled images present numerous frequency couples in an aliasing spectrum relationship and having the same localization within the original image. The identification of this property of aliased images enabled us to propose two aliasing detection strategies, both using "a contrario" methods.

Classical images used in image processing tests are not adapted to testing aliasing. A test data-base was thus first defined to have a better test of the proposed algorithms. The algorithms were also used to evaluate the existing CNES satellites on their capacity to create more or les aliasing in the acquired images.

Finally thanks to the detection algorithms, a first correction algorithm was suggested. Thanks to pre-informed algorithms, it was demonstrated that correction algorithms using the hypothesis of locally non-overlapping spectrums could enable an efficient aliasing correction.

Other missions

  • PhD
  • Images processing
  • Data processing

Notre directeur technique, Baptiste Coulange, a réalisé sa thèse en collaboration avec le CNES et l'université Paris 5 sur le thème de la détection d'aliasing dans les images.

Les satellites d'observation terrestre sont optimisés pour obtenir la meilleure qualité d'image. La taille du capteur d'acquisition et les paramètres de l'optique sont choisis pour obtenir le meilleur compromis entre résolution et artefact d'acquisition (plus la résolution est élevée, plus les artefacts sont importants).

L'aliasing (un artefact d'acquisition) peut provoquer des erreurs d'interprétation des images. Il est donc critique de le détecter. En exploitant la dualité entre la localisation spatiale dans une image et la relation d'aliasing dans le plan de la Transformée de Fourrier, un algorithme de détection de l'aliasing a pu être développé et validé.

Detection_aliasing

Problématique

Les trois principaux artefacts d'acquisition sont :

  • Le ringing : effet de répétition autour des contours contrastés,
  • le flou,
  • l'aliasing : effet de carénage sur les contours contrastés.

L'aliasing pose de nombreux problèmes, notamment pour interpréter les images prises par le satellite et identifier des objets. Pour faciliter le travail des photos interprètes, il est très utile d'avoir des indicateurs-objectifs identifiant les zones aliasées de l'image.

L'objectif de cette étude était donc de construire un algorithme de détection automatique d'aliasing dans les images.

Solutions apportées

L'aliasing est un artefact inhérent à toute acquisition numérique. L'étude a donc démarré par l'analyse de son effet sur des modèles simples d'images, en particulier les motifs périodiques, qui y sont très sensibles.

Ceci a amène à définir la relation d'aliasing spectrale, qui caractérise les couples de fréquences (ou de zones fréquentielles) liés par l'aliasing. Parallèlement, en étendant la définition du "signal analytique" (outil mathématique) aux images, les "parties analytiques" des images ont été obtenues. Ces "images complexes" dont le module est peu impacté par un mauvais échantillonnage permet de localiser spatialement le "domaine d'action" d'une zone spectrale donnée, donc potentiellement le domaine d'action d'une fréquence aliasée.

Il a alors été montré expérimentalement qu'une image mal échantillonnée est constituée de beaucoup de couples fréquentiels en relation d'aliasing spectrale et dont les domaines d'action sont fortement corrélés. L'identification de cette propriété des images aliasées a permis d'élaborer deux modèles de détection d'aliasing, selon la méthodologie dite a contrario.

Les images classiquement utilisées en traitement d'image s'avérant peu adaptées, une base de test propice à l'étude de l'aliasing a été construite afin de valider les algorithmes proposés. Ces algorithmes sont également utlisés pour comparer les différents systèmes d'acquisition satellitaires existants, du point de vue de la création d'aliasing, grâce aux données fournies par le CNES.

Enfin, partant des résultats des algorithmes de détection, une première méthode de correction de l'aliasing dans les images a été proposée, et il a été démontré au moyen d'un oracle qu'une hypothèse de non-repliement de spectre local pourrait s'avérer très prometteuse.

Autres missions

  • These
  • Traitement de l'image
  • Traitement de donnees