Thibault Gouache (cofounder of Cornis), did his PhD for ESA (European Space Agency), in collaboration with ISAE (Toulouse, France) and the University of Surrey (Guilford, UK) in the field of automatic and mechanics. A strong expertise in design, assessment, evaluation and testing of space mechanisms was acquired.

These_forage_thibault

Client problem

On the moon or Mars to search for traces of life, it is mandatory to dig or drill beneath the surface. Any drilling system needs an important force applied on it to penetrate; On the Moon and Mars there is little gravity and the mass of space systems is limited. It is thus very difficult if not impossible to push on classical space drilling systems. New drilling solutions re thus necessary.

Solution proposed

Novel mechanisms for lunar and Martian regolith penetration, exploration and sampling were designed, prototypes and tested. Thanks to the observation of nature (an insect drilling into wood to lay its eggs), a team of researchers funded by ESA (European Space Agency) designed a drilling system based on the alternative and reciprocating translation of 2 valves. The alternating movement enables a significant reduction of the normal force that must be applied by the carrier on the drill head.

A first prototype was developed for regolith type substrates (sandy soils). To conduct performance tests, it was necessary to define a standardised protocol to test drilling systems in regolith substrates. Thanks to this protocol, objective comparisons between different drilling systems performance in regolith is made possible. The influence of relative density of the regolith that is being penetrated is controlled and reported.

To confirm the experimental conclusions of this work, numerical simulations using DEM (discrete element methods) and a highly parallelized code compatible with GPU were used. The experimental and numerical data enabled to conclude that the studied drilling system is able to penetrate efficiently into regolith with very little over-head normal force mainly because the drill head-shape causes a lateral deflection during the reciprocating translations.

Other missions

  • PhD

Our R&D project manager, Ahmed Jhinaoui, did his PhD at INRIA (French Institute for Research in Computer Science and Control). The subject of his work is part of a wider research thematic in the context of a collaboration between INRIA and ISAE (French Aerospace Institute), via the project I4S which is about structural health monitoring for the purpose of reducing maintenance interventions.

Our CTO, Baptiste Coulange, did his PhD for CNES (the French Space Agency) and University of Paris Descartes on detecting of aliasing in satellite images.

Earth observation satellites are optimised to obtain the best image quality. The size of the sensors and the parameters of the optical chain are designed to obtain the best compromise between image resolution and acquisition artefacts. The higher the resolution the more artefacts are present.

Aliasing which is one of the artefacts in satellite images can lead to image misinterpretation. It is thus critical to detect it. By using the duality between spatial localisation in the image and aliasing relationships in the Fourier transform plane, it was possible to develop and validate a aliasing detection algorithm.

Our research project manager, Virginie Delavaud, carried out her PhD thesis for SNCF, the french railway company, with ENSTA ParisTech, about railway rolling noise.

Rolling noise is the main source of railway transportation noise for a wide speed range (between 50 and 320 km/h). Rolling noise occurs when a wheel moves on a rail in a straight line. On the same scope, the impact noise is due to discrete irregularities on either of the two structures, such as rail joints or wheelflats.

Thibault Gouache (cofondateur de Cornis), a réalisé sa thèse pour l'ESA (Agence Spatiale Européenne), en collaboration avec l'ISAE et l'Université de Surrey sur le thème de la mécanique et de l'automatique. Une expertise sur la conception, l’évaluation et le test de mécanismes spatiaux a été développée.

These_forage_thibault

Problématique

Sur la Lune ou Mars il est nécessaire de creuser ou forer pour espérer trouver des traces de vie. Hors tout système de forage nécessite une force de poussée forte pour pénétrer. Sur Mars ou la Lune la gravité est faible et la masse des systèmes spatiaux est limitée. Il est donc très difficile de pousser sur un système de forage classique pour le faire pénétrer. De nouvelles solutions de forage sont donc nécessaires.

Solutions apportées

Des mécanismes novateurs de forage et d’échantillonnage pour les sols lunaires et martiens ont été conçus, produits et testés. A partir de l'observation d'un système biologique (un insecte creusant dans le bois pour pondre ses œufs), une équipe de chercheurs financée par l'ESA a proposé un système de forage et d'échantillonnage basé sur un mouvement alterné de translation de deux valves. Le mouvement alterné permet de réduire énormément la force normale que le porteur du système de forage doit appliquer sur la tête de forage.

Un premier prototype a été développé et testé pour des substrats sablonneux. Pour cela, un protocole de tests standardisé pour le test des performances d'un système de forage et d'échantillonnage dans des sols sablonneux a d'abord été proposé. Il est donc désormais possible de comparer des systèmes de manière objective en minimisant l'impact des conditions expérimentales. En particulier, l'importance de contrôler la densité relative du matériau granulaire dans lequel le système pénètre a été démontrée.

Pour confirmer les conclusions expérimentales, des simulations numériques utilisant les éléments discrets (et une architecture de calcul hautement parallèle sur GPU) ont été développées. Cela a permis de confirmer que le système de forage pénètre efficacement dans les sables principalement car il provoque un mouvement latéral de la tête de forage lors de translations successives de la tête de forage.

Autres missions

  • These

Notre chargé de recherche, Ahmed Jhinaoui, a réalisé sa thèse pour l'INRIA. Le thème de ses travaux s’inscrit dans une large thématique de recherche entre l’INRIA et l’ISAE, à travers le projet I4S portant sur la surveillance de la santé des structures mécaniques dans le but de réduire les interventions de maintenance.

Notre directeur technique, Baptiste Coulange, a réalisé sa thèse en collaboration avec le CNES et l'université Paris 5 sur le thème de la détection d'aliasing dans les images.

Les satellites d'observation terrestre sont optimisés pour obtenir la meilleure qualité d'image. La taille du capteur d'acquisition et les paramètres de l'optique sont choisis pour obtenir le meilleur compromis entre résolution et artefact d'acquisition (plus la résolution est élevée, plus les artefacts sont importants).

L'aliasing (un artefact d'acquisition) peut provoquer des erreurs d'interprétation des images. Il est donc critique de le détecter. En exploitant la dualité entre la localisation spatiale dans une image et la relation d'aliasing dans le plan de la Transformée de Fourrier, un algorithme de détection de l'aliasing a pu être développé et validé.

Notre chargée de recherche, Virginie Delavaud, a réalisé sa thèse en collaboration avec la SNCF et l'ENSTA ParisTech, sur le thème du bruit de roulement ferroviaire.

Le bruit de roulement est la principale cause du bruit des transports ferroviaires, pour un large intervalle de vitesse de train (entre 50 et 320 km/h). Le bruit de roulement se produit lorsque la roue roule sur le rail, en ligne droite. Dans le même contexte, le bruit d’impact intervient lorsque des défauts importants sont présents sur les surfaces de la roue et/ou du rail, par exemple un méplat sur la roue ou un joint sur le rail.